I’ve just checked in support for Widcomm’s COM Port creation classes. Access WidcommSerialPort.CreateClient and store the result and once you’ve finished with the COM port Dispose it, it’ll be Finalized if not referenced.  I’ll look at integrating the functionality into the BluetoothSerialPort class sometime.

I’ve tested it on my Asus WM Classic device and it work fine there. The Widcomm documentation implies that it should work on Win32 too but it doesn’t work on my WinXP Widcomm v3 installation.

Download the library code (revision 85315 or later) from http://32feet.codeplex.com/SourceControl/list/changesets and compile the CF2 project to get the library code to use in your project. You’ll also need the new native Widcomm mapping DLL, get it from http://32feet.codeplex.com/releases/view/61443

Testing shows that if the connected devices go out of range then the connection is lost however (we see DISCONNECT event in the code, and the remote socket server sees close). Presumably we need to implement code to repeatedly retry to reconnect?

I’ve done about a day’s work on that. I’d be glad of a wee ‘reward’ for adding this new feature, particularly if it saves you time on your projects. 🙂 I’ve Amazon wishlist or paypal for instance.

